Constitution Of India Article 54 - Election of President


The President shall be elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of:
(a) the elected members of both Houses of Parliament; and
(b) the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the States.

[1]In this article and in article 55, State includes the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union territory of [2]Pondicherry.
1. Ins. by the Constitution (Seventieth Amendment) Act, 1992, s.2 (w.e.f. 1-6-1995).
2. Now Puducherry vide the Pondicherry (Alteration Of Name) Act, 2006, s.3 (w.e.f. 1-10-2006).

Click here to read more from the Constitution Of India & Constitution of India in Hindi

Popular Articles of Indian Constitution